Like Manna from Heaven and a Frenzied Dim Sum Joint in Chinatown: The Lord & Taylor Holiday Sales

Lord & Taylor, a holiday sale with an additional 25% off coupon…Priceless.

I was on the hunt for a replacement pair of Wellies.  The other pair had to go.  Rest in peace.  As fate would have it, Lord & Taylor would be having a sale this week.  Sweet.  There’s nothing like a Lord & Taylor sale during the holidays.  Nothing.  Sure, other department stores have sales, but hands down, if you’re a hot chica with a desire for a nicer collection of shoes than the budget stores will provide, run, don’t walk, to the second floor of the Lord & Taylor flagship store in New York City on Fifth Avenue.  But be prepared, with a city of almost 9 million, with probably more than half of those being women, there are hot chicas everywhere and…theymeanbusiness…when it comes to the L&T shoe department.

I had my “game face” on when I headed to Lord & Taylor in the pouring…and I mean, pouring…rain last night.  Once I got off the elevator on the second floor, it was like: Charge!  The place was packed.  It truly was like a frenzied dim sum joint in Chinatown.  Yes, it was that busy on a Wednesday night.  There were women everywhere, I’m serious, and they all looked like me–on a mission.  There was only one problem with this mission.  The sale didn’t officially start until today, Thursday.  But, leave it to Lord & Taylor to make sure that all isn’t lost.  Solution:  Buy now.  Pick up later.  So, that’s what I did.  I found my replacement Wellies and–wait for it…the hottest, rockin’-est pair of black, suede, 5″ platform booties.  A must have for the girl on the go in Nueva York this season.  All I had to do was pick them up on my way to work this morning.  They held them in pre-sale storage overnight.

But, let’s back up.  When I saw those booties, and slipped them on my feet, they were like buddah (not “butter” or “buttah”–Jamaican-style, more the “Saturday Night Live” Linda Richmond “kwawfee tawk” New York-style).  They were like manna from Heaven.  Ahhhhhhhh…  Yes, like that.  I can’t wait to wear them.  And there’s no time like tomorrow.  I’m not putting them on pause.  They need to be worn ASAP.

These booties are so fierce, and not in a “I look fierce” kind of way but in a “I AM fierce” kind of way.

Tomorrow’s temperature:  Low to mid 40s Fahrenheit / 3 – 7 degrees Centigrade with partly sunny skies and only a 20% chance of rain.

Fingers crossed, I’ll be fiercely fabulous tomorrow in my 5″ booties as I head to one of many holiday parties this December.  And the sweetest deal of all:  I got Wellies and my smokin’ hot booties at rock-bottom prices.  Happiness!

How can a girl not love these?! Five inches of stiletto fierceness!

2 thoughts on “Like Manna from Heaven and a Frenzied Dim Sum Joint in Chinatown: The Lord & Taylor Holiday Sales

  1. Did u get me a pair so I can wobble along in Canada, yes girl they are fierce, so are we wearing leggings and micro mini with them to get the full effect????

    • Haha! Would you believe that I got the last pair? Like winning the lottery. No micro minis…a black dress. Can’t go wrong. Although we’re south of the Canadian border, it’s still freezing in these parts!

What's your comment?

