How do you spell obsession? S-C-R-A-B-B-L-E

I’ve ventured over to the Dark Side.  I downloaded Scrabble on my Nook.  Sure, I could have selected Angry Birds (why are those birds angry anyway?), but why would I when one of the greatest board games ever invented — Scrabble — was available for purchase?  This electronic version is keeping me from sleeping and interacting as a normal human being.  I.am.hooked.  The other night I was up until 2:00 a.m.  Sleep deprivation.

It.is.awesome.  You have choices — and isn’t that what life is all about?

  • You can play against the computer (what they call “Single Player”), or
  • You can play against others online (and you have two choices there: “Play Random Opponent” or “Play with Friends”).

I’m not ready to play against a Random Opponent.  And as for “Friends”….friends?  What friends? When you’re playing Scrabble, there are no “friends”. (ssst)

I am literally walking around with the Nook charger making my bag that much heavier because now I’m lugging all my usual crap, plus the Nook, plus the Nook charger, the mobile phone charger and God knows what else.  I’m a little fanatical about giving it a charge overnight so it’s fully pumped before I leave in the morning.  My whole focus is to get a game or two in before arriving at work.  Thank God for public transportation…I don’t know how I would survive if I had to drive to work and not be able to play.

The last seven tiles…what’s going to happen?

At some point during the day while at work, I’m playing a game on and off.  A word here and there; quick shuffles here and there.  I’m good as long as I get 5 or 10 minutes of play every hour or so, which staves off the cold sweats from withdrawal.  And that’s the beauty of the electronic version (not the cold sweats, the sentence after this one).  When you’re in the middle of a “Single Player” game, you can pause and come back to it hours later.  Sweet.  And it couldn’t be more perfect because they expect me to work at work, and every day they’re trying to kill me, I swear, ’cause I’m hella swamped!

My Scrabble skills have diminished over the years for a variety of reasons, mostly because of inconsistent play, but I’m quickly bulking up on 2-letter words, you know the ones?  AA, AE, AI, QI, XI, XU, ZA, AX, OX, YA, AY.  I’m starting to pay more attention to the dictionary because I need big words, preferably words that allow me to use all seven tiles in a play.

So, yep, watch out.  I’m getting my QI suckas.

Success, but the dreaded Q and U remained.

How do you spell obsession?  S-C-R-A-B-B-L-E

Now, who is else is playing…and where in the world is my travel Scrabble kit?!  It’s somewhere in this house.  I swear, since I did the BIG SPRING CLEAN AND PURGE, I can’t find a darned thing in this house.  I’m still missing the vehicle keys!  Ugh.

P.S.  Sorry about the grainy photographs.  Remember, I lost my camera a few month ago.  I’m still grieving and my family still has not pitched in with a replacement — with mega zoom and enough dots per inch (dpi) to make pictures the sharpest you could ever imagine.  I don’t get it.  What do I have to do to get some attention from this family?  Don’t they know I can’t afford to buy a replacement camera and platform heels for spring and summer at the same time?

2 thoughts on “How do you spell obsession? S-C-R-A-B-B-L-E

    • You should! The electronic version has this “Teacher” feature. When you play your hand, immediately afterwards, the Teacher shows you what you could have played. Sometimes, what you played is what the Teacher would have played because it gave the most points, and other times, like I’m quickly learning, I missed a perfectly good word that would have been double or even triple the amount of points (playing sometimes all of my tiles in my hand). Urrgggh. So, I really need to pick up more words and pay closer attention to the board. Thank goodness I’m only playing against the Computer and not someone else!

What's your comment?

