Blank Stares and Boredom…My first attempt at Lecturing Domination…Well, that’s over.

The West Indian Mother was a teacher.  She was actually a kindergarten teacher.  (I know, they’re so little and cute…and devilish…but in an endearing way.)  I never aspired to teach anything — and certainly not in front a group of adults.  Ironic since my career has an element of coaching, occasional ‘teaching’ opportunities, but I am no Teacher of the Year.  Self-Diagnosis:  I tend to ramble and repeat things over and over again to make my point once, twice, thrice (don’t give me that side eye) — blah, blah, blah…

Imagine my surprise when I was asked by a respected university professor to be a guest lecturer for a class.  I was given full permission to spew my marketing and business development know-how.  Oh, yes, and this was not a joke.  I’d be speaking to a room of ‘serious’ students.  Code: I needed to prepare.

I sorted through and read articles on the Web, flipped through books and dug deep into my personal-experience-bag-o-tricks.  (If you follow me on Twitter, you know I had a fair amount of tweets on the lecture prep.)

Flashback:  There were a few times during the lecture when I looked around the room and the ‘serious’ students were serious…seriously scary — stone, cold serious.  They even had the body language of “Ugh, God, can she wrap it up already,” and that got me rambling away.  It was like an “Oh no!” panic moment.  It wasn’t all bad, however. (I’m throwing myself a bone here.)  There were fleeting moments of interaction where a few actually looked interested, but unfortunately, it was not like I envisioned.  (So much for my wild imaginations about students rushing up at the end of the class to bombard me with questions.  Boy, was I delusional.)

I couldn’t wait for it to be over — I needed the nightmare that I was starting to get sucked into to end (maybe I’m being a tad bit melodramatic).  The Bottom Line:  Teaching is best left to the professionals.

If it wasn’t clear when I walked in the door, it was clear when they practically stampeded out the door (they didn’t, but in my state of disappointment, that’s what it felt like):  I bombed.  Ouch.

Yeah…

Blank Stares and Boredom…My first attempt at Lecturing Domination…Well, that’s over.

smh. (Translation for all you non-Twitter folks: shaking my head)

8 thoughts on “Blank Stares and Boredom…My first attempt at Lecturing Domination…Well, that’s over.

  1. There were about 5 years in my life when I had absolutely no problem with public speaking. I don’t know what happened, but that is definitely not the case anymore. So, yeah, I admire you for getting up and actually TEACHING. Now, if I get up, even with slides, it’s basically word vomit and I’m outta there.

    • I don’t like public speaking AT ALL. But, in order for me to succeed in my job, I need to be able to do a fair amount, but it’s always one of those pit-of-my-stomach moments. You always feel that you’re not quite delivering like you should to the audience.

      What I need to do is to focus, pause and think before speaking. Sometimes, in my haste to get things out, it doesn’t quite materialize the way it should have and then it’s like: FAIL.

      Oh well, one down.

    • Next time? If there is a next time. I have a feeling they (the Children of the Corn) are talking about me behind my back, and it’s not pleasant. If this is all in my head, and there is a next, I’d concentrate on one thing and one thing only. I overstretched myself. Lesson learned.

  2. Awww…I’m sure you did better than you thought. Like you “public speaking” literally makes me nauseous. Even after over 10 years in the University setting I get TERRIFIED when asked to speak to prospective students. One on one I’m fine more than ten I’m 10 min. from stroking out.

    • Haha! (I’m not laughing at you, but you’re funny)… But seriously, I told my Twitter friend in Toronto, it was like “Children of the Corn” and they were seated before me staring. +_+ Yeah, like that.

    • Yes. You’re right. You are a “glass half full” voice of reason. Of course, the first e-mail I see this morning was from the professor asking me how it went. She was eager to find out. She was so appreciative that I did the lecture, but I thought: “Not so fast. Don’t thank me yet until you get the feedback from the students.”

What's your comment?

