Generation X: Mid 60s – Mid 70s | Trapper Keeper

Photo Credit: DukesOnline.com

Remember Trapper Keepers?  Memories!  (In my poor mimic of Barbra Streisand…)  As kids return to school, it brings me back.  It was one of those things you wanted, am I right?  Remember the Velcro rip of the flap opening?  And then you could decorate it with stickers and the ones that were like raised bubble-types?  Of course, you had to have all new loose leaf paper.  Can’t remember now (see, ’cause most GenX-ers are in their 40s…just kidding…no, I’m not…I’m serious…), but I think I had TKs with Ralph Macchio, Menudo, and I believe New Edition. My male cousins may have had The Dukes of Hazzard one.  sigh.  By the end of the school year, the puffiness was long gone, and the spongy filling peeked out of the separated seams.  But, the simple joy of having one at the start of the school year was one of the best things ever!

Oh, those back-to-school days!  Where does the time go?

6 thoughts on “Generation X: Mid 60s – Mid 70s | Trapper Keeper

  1. Trapper Keepers, those were the days! I remember they were a bit more expensive then the other binders & my mom making it a point to remind us of that, like we were getting a luxury item. But oh it was… how cool did you feel walking around with that thing???

    • Yes, they weren’t considered cheap, but I figured, I wasn’t getting Jordache jeans (remember those?! LOL), and stylish clothing and sneakers, etc. So, asking for a Trapper Keeper wasn’t asking for too much! I was so cool at the beginning of every school year walking around with that thing in my hand!

    • I loved them! It was the one thing I wanted every new school year. You had your new binders, your new paper, your new pens (yeah, I was a bit of a nerd). But, I only liked the ones that had designed, not the plain ones. They were ugly. If I wasn’t going to have ‘fly’ clothes (we couldn’t afford that), the least I could have was a new bag and Trapper Keeper!

What's your comment?

