Generation X: Mid 60s – Mid 70s | Two (More) Words: Shoulder Pads

As I’m writing this, I’m shaking my head.  Shoulder Pads?

Seriously, what the h*ll were we thinking?  I just hit 4 stores in 3 hours last week Thursday for Fashion’s Night Out during Fashion Week in New York City.  Do I even dare admit that I actually sewed an extra pair of shoulder pads into my already padded oversized cotton t-shirt circa 1986?  Yes, t-shirt…and yes, I sewed an extra pair in one that already made me look like a pint-sized linebacker.  (And I swear, that thing was not only oversized and padded but fluorescent pink…and anyone who knows me knows that I have a fear of bright colors — no pinks, no peaches, no pastels.)

See, you got me all wound up and this flashback is literally giving me a pain in my chest.

We could barely walk through a doorway and had to turn to the side because our d*mn shoulders wouldn’t fit otherwise.

So, between the hair and the shoulder pads, I don’t know what was the bigger fashion and style nightmare.

But, we had even more madness to add to the crazy (beyond the Diva Grace Jones and her foot-wide shoulders).  Stay tuned. smh.

4 thoughts on “Generation X: Mid 60s – Mid 70s | Two (More) Words: Shoulder Pads

    • I totally forgot about the crimping! How could I forget that?! Bangs…I’ll never forget. Without bangs, you didn’t have a hair style. Hair products, regular rollers, hot rollers, curling irons, crimping irons, combs, brushes — and at least 2 hours to get ready because your hair alone needed an hour and a half.

What's your comment?

