The British aren’t coming, but the West Indians are. Thankfully, only some, not all.

It’s going to be a whirlwind of a week next week, and even before it gets here, I’ve got to “Prep”.  Remember the great clean and purge from this past spring?  It was something.  The Sequel came to town for a visit, and before they landed, I needed to get my lil’ ol’ place in tip-top shape.  Their pending arrival was the catalyst I needed to get rid of a whole bunch of stuff that I didn’t need or want, and in many instances, hadn’t looked at in years.  I didn’t get rid of it all, and since then I’ve accumulated new “stuff”, so it’s stir and repeat all over again. Ugh.

I have GOT to get this house spotless by Saturday at 4 p.m.* by Sunday night! (*because I’m going out to dinner with The Traveler…but I digress…)

In a 10-day period, we’ll have visitors.  They will start arriving on Sunday night.  And by “They“, I mean:

  • The Matriarch: yep, the pseudo-Jewish, very prudish, British-influenced 91-year old grandmother will be coming in for 10 days. That’s right, folks.  10….days.  I’m going to have to meditate before she gets here, and I’ve already scheduled “quiet time” on Sunday afternoon.  I need to be fully committed to the grandmother or the guilt will come my way via her Powers.
  • Lil’ Sis: I’m thrilled to bits that she will be in Nueva York.  We’ll be able to bond and, you know, talk, since we never really do much any more.  Life is like that.  As you get older and you get busy and with only 24 hours in a day, you just aren’t as connected as you used to be when you were wee ones.  Le sigh.  I’m looking forward to having “foodie” adventures with her too.  Stay tuned.
  • The Shopping Lawyer:  She’s breezing into town again, which she does fairly often, and she’ll be here for a little while.  No doubt, shopping may be involved.  I have a feeling she’ll be walking through the doors of Century 21 in Lower Manhattan, Lord & Taylor and/or Loehmann’s during her visit.
  • The Road Warrior:  Well, he lives here, and he’s living in the south too with The Shopping Lawyer, so he’s a bi-staterSoon, he won’t be — and that makes me sad.  Before I know it, he’ll say “Adios” to this great state.
  • Just Call Her Fabulous a.k.a. The Diva: She won’t be here long, but I’m not sure if she’ll be hanging with her older cousins or hanging with her own peeps.  We’ll see.  She’s got a thriving social calendar.  Ah, to be in your 20s.

Those are some of the players, but the key player of them all will be here too:

  • Reds a.k.a. The West Indian Mother:  She’ll arrive on Thanksgiving Day.  That’s right, Thanksgiving Day, and she’s not flying in but coming by train. (Everybody’s jumping on my train travel bandwagon…remember my 18-hour Amtrak ride of less than a month ago?)  So, she’s coming through Penn Station in the heart of Manhattan’s 34th Street area, and I, her offspring, must pick her up.  Oh, did I mention, it’s ON Thanksgiving Day???  Yeah, that means, it’s the day of the Macy*s freakin’ Thanksgiving day parade.  Oh. My. God.  I’m going to need all of you to send sincere prayers my way.  If you’re not familiar with New York City, Macy*s is located on 34th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues.  On a normal day, it is a crowded mess.  On Thanksgiving Day it is EPICALLY (is that a word? If it isn’t, it is now…) OVERWHELMING. Oy!

I’ll report back.  The mad “Prep” may be worthy of a blog post, and of course, the whole bonding with La Familia will need one too.

And P.S…This –> Thanksgiving is only one part of this whole whirlwind.  The Second Mother turns 90 years old on November 24th.  It’s been quite a journey with her, especially during the past 12 – 15 months since we had to admit her into a nursing home.  But, I won’t go on about this in this space right now.  It’s too much.  Anyhoo, I expect the gathering at the nursing home on Saturday afternoon after Thanksgiving will be sweet.  Hopefully, she’ll be able to handle the whole lot of us coming in from all points to celebrate with her.  (And a day or a week later, if we’re lucky, she’ll remember it all.  Dementia is a terrible thing.)

The British aren’t coming, but the West Indians are.  Thankfully, only some, not all.

I’m going to need a lot of rum punch to get through this one, I’m telling you.

6 thoughts on “The British aren’t coming, but the West Indians are. Thankfully, only some, not all.

  1. O.M.G. The TRAIN on THANKSGIVING DAY in NYC??!!!!!!! Are you kidding me? Manhattan? Wow. All I can say is have your doctor prescribe meds. For you. (or maybe for her?) Well, no, that might not work, actually.. But you’ll definitely need reinforcements of some kind. I tend to suddenly pretend to take up running. Something like…(Big announcement at the dinner table): “I’m training for a 10K, and this is my first week. The first week of training is VERY intense, so I may be gone a WHILE.” Then leave for about 4 hours and hide somewhere far, far away from any shoppers. With lots of Scotch close by. 🙂

    • I should have called The Shopping Lawyer’s old cleaning lady who she had by her side for years and years, but I didn’t. I felt the same way in the spring when I did The Great Clean and Purge. Now, I’m doing a whole lot of nothing. Sure, I’ve organized things and thrown some more things out, but I’m still looking at this pail/bucket, sponges, the Pledge and the Swifter. Yes, there they are — right there. Sigh.

    • I have got to come to one year to experience — I’m not kidding — the A-town Thanksgiving. I know you’re like, O___O ?!?! I’d be out of my element and I’m sure your family would get a kick out of it! Ha! P.S. Wish The Mini Diva was coming…but, we’ll talk…I may have to do a ‘surprise’ (just me and you, Mom2aGuy, would know — and of course, the CFO). I’d jet in, pick her up, bring her back to Nueva York so she could actually see The Rockettes perform in the Radio City Music Hall “Christmas Spectacular”. Gotta eyeball that budget ’cause that’s a whole lotta pesos.

What's your comment?

