SNAP Challenge – Day 4 | Meal Plan and Reflections

I forgot my lunch today. smh.  Don’t. Ask.  Ugh.  smh (again).  I have a meal plan that I follow to a tee, but somehow I forgot to even package my soup to take with me.  So, today was a challenge, for sure.  I just kept reaching for cups of hot water to drink.

What was my meal plan supposed to be today – Day 4?

  • Breakfast:  Sardines and Sweet Potato
  • Lunch:  Vegetable Soup with Sweet Corn
  • Snack:  Carrots
  • Dinner:  Rice Pilaf, Baked Beans and Broccoli

SNAP Challenge - Day 4 - Breakfast to Lunch

Instead I was forced to have:

  • Breakfast:  Carrots
  • Lunch:  Sardines and Sweet Potato
  • Snack:  None  (however, I was able to grab 4 mini baked brown rice and cranberry clusters — someone brought a bag to the office, so I was saved and they were free)
  • Dinner:  Rice Pilaf, Baked Beans and Broccoli

By the time I was seated to have dinner, I was so hungry, I inhaled it.  Nutritionists and doctors always encourage us to chew our food several times, place smaller portions on our fork or spoon, and slow things down, take our time, savor our meals.

Please.  I was too hungry for that.  Dinner never tasted so good.  (Well, last night’s dinner was delicious too, but…)

SNAP Challenge - Day 4 - Dinner

Final Thought:  Don’t ever forget a meal at home.  If you don’t have a meal to start out with, that’s one thing.  But if you have a meal and you forget it, like I did, especially when your meal portions are so much smaller overall, it’s crushing.  My stomach had several quarrels throughout the day.

Without a doubt, having your own office is a blessing.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

My thanks to everyone who have followed my SNAP Challenge journey thus far.  I appreciate it.  Don’t forget to stop by my place on Twitter via @brainypintsizer.  You’ll be subjected to food pics, SNAP thoughts, and my usual random marketing information and rants.

If we can conquer space, we can conquer childhood hunger.”   – Buzz Aldrin

2 thoughts on “SNAP Challenge – Day 4 | Meal Plan and Reflections

    • The one thing I don’t do that I should do, that I know how to do but prefer not to do is to cut down on my weekly expenses by taking my lunch to work.

      I eat out a lot less than people may think, and even when I do, it isn’t what I equate to 5-star eateries with 5-star costs. However, normal lunch costs can add up — even if I indulge in my food truck adventures, which are legendary (yes, I claim they are) and are sometimes (but not all the time) cheaper than brick and mortar stores.

      I will say that saving “big money” is relative depending on where you live. If you live in certain large cities like New York, you cannot compare our prices to Minneapolis. Our cost of living is higher. It isn’t an apples to apples comparison.

      We’ll see what I do to change my lifestyle going forward, but this exercise was quite eye-opening.

What's your comment?

