Down for the count for days: I feel like I went 10 rounds with Mike Tyson, but it’s only the flu.

I’ve been down the for count for days — yeah, KO’d — Knocked. Out.  Heard about the God-awful flu that’s been sweeping the nation from coast to coast?  Well, it’s real.  Very real.

Photo Credit: Nationaal Archief (via Flickr Creative Commons)

Photo Credit: Nationaal Archief (via Flickr Creative Commons)

I don’t know what happened, but I went to bed on Sunday night and woke up on Monday morning and immediately knew something was horribly wrong.  My head weighed about 30  lbs, and I had a fever that was in-sane.

Oh my God, I need The West Indian Mother.

My body feels like it’s bruised and battered — but it isn’t.  My back hurts so much.  When I cough, my ribs, geez, so painful.  Even my joints hurt.  Thankfully, I think the fever has left the building. *fingers crossed*  Now, if only I could get rid of this recurring soreness in the throat.  No sooner do I think it’s improving, it flares up again.  I’m tired of reaching for my Halls lozenges or Vicks.  (P.S.  Vicks is like the best thing with or without a cold…the menthol…mmmm…so soothing.)

Tomorrow, I’m heading to work.  I have the most h*llish workload waiting for me.  I tried to lessen things a bit by checking e-mails occasionally the last few days, but I could barely hold my head up for more than 15 minutes at a time.  Now, I’m paranoid.  The last thing I want to do is to be among people with their own germs.  I’m nowhere near a 100% but I have got to get back into the office. You can only do so much from home.  Ugh. I dread this. I need one of those masks the Japanese wear whenever they have a cold.  I always look at them with amusement, but no-one’s amused now.  I want one.  Actually, I want a few.  I wonder where I can pick one up in Midtown Manhattan other than walking into an emergency room and begging?

sigh.  Did I mention that I need The West Indian Mother?

Let’s hope the cold and flu meds I’ve been pumping into my system continues to work.  I’m desperate for relief.  Desperate.

It’s bad out there.

I feel like I went 10 rounds with Mike Tyson, but it’s only the flu.

That’s it.  I’m calling The West Indian Mother.  *picks up phone*

P.S.  Did you hear there’s also a stomach bug?  Great.  That’s all I need right now.

5 thoughts on “Down for the count for days: I feel like I went 10 rounds with Mike Tyson, but it’s only the flu.

  1. Pingback: Inauguration Weekend: High Hopes…(and no pictures) | brainypintsizer

    • I had my first partial week (because of the federal holiday) last week. This week will be my first full week. Now, if only I could get rid of this cough and this exhaustion. (Actually, I just need to get to bed earlier, I think…)

What's your comment?

